Does a 3 power unit with Assault 2 count as a mighty unit for Sunken Temple?
Ruling: A 3 power unit with Assault 2 does not count as a mighty unit for Sunken Temple purposes.
Sequence:
- The unit gains +2 power from Assault 2 during combat (becoming 5 power)
- The attacker/defender designation is removed before the battlefield is conquered
- When checking for mighty status (4+ power), the unit has reverted to its base 3 power
- Therefore it does not qualify as mighty
Does a Summoner Skirmish have to cut to top 8?
Ruling: As of January 2025, top cut is optional for Summoner Skirmishes. Previously, when using the official Carde.io template for Summoner Skirmishes, a top cut was mandatory and automatically enforced by the system.
Sequence:
- For events before January 2025: Carde.io automatically enforced a top cut when the Summoner Skirmish template was properly used
- The number of Swiss rounds was automatically determined by player count (e.g., 64 players = 6 rounds, 32 players = 5 rounds)
- Top 8 players would then proceed to single elimination playoff bracket
- As of January 2025: An email was sent to TOs stating top cut is now optional for Summoner Skirmishes
Nuances:
- The change to optional top cut appears to have been implemented starting with Set 2 (Spiritforged) Skirmishes
- TOs can now adjust cut settings in Carde.io before the tournament starts
- The official tournament rules document does not explicitly state top cut requirements; the requirement was previously enforced through the Carde.io system setup
- Stores that circumvented the automatic top cut before January 2025 were running non-standard events
- There is debate about whether byes earned from improperly run skirmishes (before the rule change) should be valid
Does a card that triggers when playing cards face-down activate when playing cards from deck (like Nocturne) or with Rek'Sai effects?
Ruling: No, cards in the deck are not considered "face-down." Face-down specifically refers to cards on the board with their back side presented. Cards played from deck (like Nocturne's banish effect) will not trigger effects that require playing cards face-down.
Nuances:
- Banish is not a face-down zone
- Cards in deck have their back side presented but are not technically "face-down" - that term only applies to cards on the board
- The "face-down" wording is likely future-proofing for cards that may be played face-down on the board in future sets
Does a defending unit with Shield (like Stalwart Poro) retain the Shield buff when targeted by Challenge during a showdown?
Ruling: Yes, the Stalwart Poro keeps the Shield buff when challenged during a showdown because it is still considered a defender.
Nuances:
- Challenge simply causes units to deal their might values as damage to each other
- The defender status from the showdown persists even when Challenge targets that unit
- Shield applies based on defender status, not specifically to showdown combat
Does a showdown end immediately if a unit is removed from the battlefield during the showdown?
Ruling: No, once a showdown begins it continues until both players pass consecutively instead of starting a chain. Removing the unit does not end the showdown early.
Sequence:
- A showdown begins when a unit moves to a battlefield (assuming no triggers are responded to that would prevent staging)
- Players may play actions and pass focus back and forth
- The showdown only ends when both players pass in a row without starting a chain
- This is true even if the unit is removed from the battlefield during the showdown
Nuances:
- If a unit has a "when I move" trigger and an opponent responds to that trigger with removal (like Gust), the showdown never begins at all - it will be staged and then unstaged during cleanup after the removal resolves
Does a showdown end immediately when all attacking units are removed from the battlefield, or does it continue until both players pass without starting a chain?
Ruling: Showdowns only end when both players pass focus without starting a chain. It does not matter if no units are currently attacking.
Nuances:
- Even if all attacking units are removed from the battlefield during a showdown (such as being pushed back), the showdown phase continues until both players consecutively pass
- Units can still heal from combat damage during the showdown even after attackers are removed, as long as the showdown phase hasn't ended
Does a spell with Repeat count as one spell or multiple spells when interacting with Defy?
Ruling: A spell with Repeat counts as a single spell, so it can be countered by one Defy regardless of how many times it repeats.
Nuances:
- The combined mana cost of the original spell plus Repeat costs does not prevent Defy from countering it
- Repeat provides value by getting multiple effects from one card, but this comes with the vulnerability of losing all repeats to a single counter
Does a unit that has taken damage but not died still attack with its full might value when defending?
Ruling: Yes, damage does not reduce might. A unit will attack with its full might value regardless of how much damage it has taken, unless an effect specifically reduces its might.
Nuances:
- A unit only needs to be assigned damage equal to its remaining health to die, not its full might value
- Damage and might reduction are two different mechanics
- Only effects that specifically state they "reduce might" will lower a unit's might value
Does a unit with Assault get the power buff when attacking an open battlefield?
Ruling: No, Assault only applies during a combat showdown, not when attacking an open battlefield.
Nuances:
- This applies even if the opponent wants to use Gust or other responses to the attack
Does attaching Svellsongur to Mindsplitter replay Mindsplitter's ability?
Ruling: No, attaching Svellsongur to Mindsplitter does not replay Mindsplitter's ability. Svellsongur grants a copy of the ability text but does not trigger "when you play" effects.
Nuances:
- Mindsplitter's ability only triggers when you play Mindsplitter from your hand
- Svellsongur copies the ability text itself, not the trigger condition
Does attempting to equip start a chain and allow the opponent to play a reaction before the equipment resolves?
Ruling: Yes, equipping is a normal activated ability that starts a chain and allows opponents to play reactions.
Sequence:
- Player activates the equip ability
- Chain starts, priority passes
- Opponent can respond with reactions (such as kill spells)
- If opponent kills the unit being equipped, the equipment will not resolve on that unit
Nuances:
- The opponent's reaction can kill the target unit before it gets equipped, causing the equip ability to fail to resolve properly
Does blue Ahri's Inquisitive ability target, and does it therefore trigger Deflect?
Ruling: Yes, Ahri's Inquisitive ability targets and will trigger Deflect. A target is any specific choice required by an effect.
Nuances:
- AOE effects like "deal damage to all units at a battlefield" only target the battlefield (the specific choice), not the individual units
- Effects that instruct players to decide targets upon resolution do not target
- When a triggered ability like Ahri incurs a Deflect cost, you can choose not to pay it, which prevents the ability from finalizing on the chain
- If you cannot pay the Deflect cost (e.g., no runes available), it's treated the same as choosing not to pay
- Deflect is not an "optional cost" in the rules sense - optional costs use the word "may" with "as an additional cost"
Does casting Singularity (which targets two units) activate Ezreal's Legend ability that requires choosing enemy units/gear twice this turn?
Ruling: Yes, casting one Singularity does activate Ezreal's Legend ability. When you target two units with a single spell, you have chosen units twice, which satisfies Ezreal's requirement.
Nuances:
- This ruling is confirmed by developer commentary ("red text") but the comprehensive rules support is unclear or debated
- Each individual target chosen counts as a separate instance of choosing, even when done by a single spell
- The ability works whether you: (1) target one unit twice with different spells, (2) target two units with the same spell, or (3) target two units with different spells
- Deflect only adds power cost once per spell regardless of how many times that spell targets the unit with Deflect
- Damage is dealt simultaneously to multiple targets (per rule 404.1.d), but the choices of targets are still counted individually for Ezreal's purposes
Does combat showdown cleanup heal units damaged on a different battlefield?
Ruling: Combat cleanup heals all units regardless of which battlefield they are on, whose units they are, or how they were damaged.
Nuances:
- Applies to both combat and non-combat damage
- Applies to units that did not participate in the showdown
- Applies across all battlefields, not just where the showdown occurred
Does countering a spell negate Irelia - Fervent's ability from activating when she was chosen as the target?
Ruling: Irelia's ability triggers when she is chosen during spell finalization, which occurs before the opponent can counter the spell. Therefore, even if the spell is countered, Irelia's trigger has already been placed on the chain and will resolve.
Sequence:
- Spell is finalized and Irelia is chosen as the target
- Irelia's ability triggers and goes on the chain
- Opponent can now counter the original spell
- Even if countered, Irelia's trigger remains on the chain and resolves
Nuances:
- This same principle applies to other "when chosen" effects like Dreaming Tree
- Attaching gear also counts as choosing the unit with that gear, triggering Irelia's ability before the gear actually attaches
Does equipping Equipment to a unit (like Green Irelia) count as choosing/targeting that unit for triggered abilities?
Ruling: Using the Equip ability on Equipment requires you to target the unit it's going on, so it will trigger abilities that care about a unit being chosen/targeted (like Green Irelia's +1 ability). This also applies to Jax Legend's abilities.
Nuances:
- Both the standard Equip keyword and champion-specific equip abilities (like Jax Legend's) require targeting the unit, triggering these effects
Does equipping a gear count as choosing for Irelia's ability (cost reduction for spells that choose/target)?
Ruling: Equipping gear does count as choosing/targeting, but Irelia's ability only reduces the cost of spells, not gear. Equipment is targeting but is not a spell, so Irelia does not reduce gear costs.
Nuances:
- Equipment uses the "choose a unit, attach this to it" mechanic which counts as targeting
- This targeting interaction is relevant for other effects that care about choosing/targeting
- The spell vs. gear distinction is critical for Irelia's cost reduction ability
Does equipping a gear to a unit count as choosing that unit for card effects?
Ruling: Equipping a gear does count as choosing a unit for effects that care about choosing units (like Irelia, Fervent). However, it does not count for effects that specifically look for spells (like Dreaming Tree).
Nuances:
- Dreaming Tree specifically only triggers from spells, so equipping gear will not trigger it
- Effects like Irelia, Fervent that care about choosing units in general will trigger from equipping gear
Does equipping an equipment count as a gear ability that can be paid for with Ornn's legend ability?
Ruling: Yes, equipping an equipment is an activated ability of a gear, so Ornn can pay for that cost.
Does equipping trigger a chain that can be reacted to?
Ruling: Yes, equipping is an activated ability that uses the chain and can be reacted to.
Nuances:
- All activated abilities use the chain, regardless of whether they target or not
- Some activated abilities that use the chain cannot be reacted to (e.g. Malzahar's ability)
Does giving a unit Temporary bypass Zhonya's Hourglass, does Zhonya's protect it, or does it proc Zhonya's and still kill the unit?
Ruling: Zhonya's Hourglass will protect the unit for the current turn by replacing its death with recall, but the unit retains the Temporary keyword and will die at the beginning of the next turn.
Sequence:
- Unit gains Temporary keyword
- At beginning of turn, Temporary triggers causing the unit to die
- Zhonya's Hourglass replacement effect triggers, replacing death with recall exhausted
- Unit is recalled but still has Temporary keyword
- At beginning of next turn, Temporary triggers again and unit dies
Nuances:
- Temporary is a triggered effect that triggers at the start of the beginning phase; all such triggers happen simultaneously and are added to the chain, so the trigger condition only happens once per turn
- Zhonya's uses a replacement effect that changes "die" to "recall exhausted" but doesn't remove the Temporary keyword
- Recalling a unit does not clear negative keywords
- Effects like Sett's legend ability could save the unit every turn, but it would always retain Temporary
Does paying repeat costs on a spell count toward Lux's legendary ability that cares about spell costs?
Ruling: No, Lux only looks at the printed cost of spells, not additional costs like repeat costs.
Nuances:
- Lux can be triggered by spells that reduce their own cost or have alternate ways to play them
- For example, Hostile Takeover triggers Lux even when played from hidden (alternate play method)
Does red Rek'sai give Accelerate to champions played from the champion zone?
Ruling: Yes, red Rek'sai gives Accelerate to champions played from the champion zone because the champion zone is not considered a hand.
Nuances:
- The Accelerate effect applies specifically because champions are being played from the champion zone rather than from hand
Does revealing a card with Apprentice Smith count for the purpose of triggering Nocturne?
Ruling: Yes, revealing a card with Apprentice Smith triggers Nocturne. After Nocturne's errata, both "look" and "reveal" effects work to trigger it.
Nuances:
- There is a difference between "look" and "reveal" as game mechanics
- "Reveal" shows the card to all players, while "look" does not
- Both mechanics trigger Nocturne's ability after the errata
Does targeting your own units with reflexive triggers (triggered abilities from spells) on Dreaming Tree allow you to draw a card?
Ruling: No, reflexive triggers do not allow you to draw from Dreaming Tree. Dreaming Tree requires targeting with a spell itself, not with triggered abilities that resolve after the spell.
Sequence:
- You play a spell that does not target
- The spell resolves
- Triggered abilities from that spell go on the chain and may target
- These triggered ability targets do not count as "targeting with a spell" for Dreaming Tree
Nuances:
- The distinction is between targeting with the spell itself versus targeting with a triggered ability that was created by a spell
Does the Minefield effect trigger abilities that say 'When you discard'?
Ruling: No, Minefield does not trigger "When you discard" abilities.
Nuances:
- You must perform the Discard game action to trigger "When you discard" effects
- Discarding specifically refers to moving cards from hand to trash
Does the Watcher ability affect all enemy units count as 'choosing' them for the purpose of triggering 'when chosen by enemy spells or abilities' effects?
Ruling: The Watcher does not choose enemy units. It applies a blanket effect to all enemies, which is mechanically different from choosing.
Nuances:
- Effects that trigger "when chosen by enemy spells or abilities" will trigger from targeted spells and abilities that choose specific units
- They will not trigger from blanket effects like Watcher that affect all units without choosing
- Examples: Would trigger from targeted spells, but not from effects like Unchecked Power or Watcher
Does the card 'Schnitsel' (a 5-energy meat card) have any errata?
The card 'Schnitsel' is not found in the RiftJudge database. It may be a newly released card not yet in the system, a homebrew/custom card, or the name may be spelled differently in the official database. Without confirmation of the card's existence in the official Riftbound card pool, no errata information can be provided.
Does the cost reduction text on Find Your Center apply twice when the spell is Repeated with Temporal Portal?
Ruling: The cost reduction only applies once. When you pay the Repeat cost, you pay the base cost (3) plus the Repeat cost (3) minus the single reduction (2) for a total of 4 energy, then execute Find Your Center's effect twice upon resolution.
Sequence:
- Declare you are casting Find Your Center and paying the Repeat cost
- Calculate total cost: 3 (base) + 3 (Repeat) - 2 (reduction if opponent is within 3 VP) = 4 energy
- Pay the 4 energy
- Upon resolution, execute Find Your Center's instructions twice
Nuances:
- Cost reductions are passive abilities that apply during the cost determination step, not instructions that execute upon resolution
- The Repeat keyword specifically states the effect is performed an additional time "upon resolution," which happens after costs are paid
- Cost reductions like Skysplitter can still reduce the combined Repeat cost if the reduction is large enough (e.g., a 16 might unit would make an 8-cost spell with Repeat free)
Does the errata to The Dreaming Tree restrict the draw effect to only the first player who casts a spell on a unit there each turn?
Ruling: No, each player can draw once per turn when they choose a friendly unit at The Dreaming Tree with a spell for the first time that turn.
Nuances:
- The old text used "you" which was clarified to always mean "the battlefield's controller," limiting the effect to only that player
- The new text allows all players to benefit from the effect, enabling interactions like "attack, cleave, draw" for non-controller players
Does tournament rule 702.12 (Drawing Extra Cards) apply when a player draws too many cards during the initial setup process (e.g., drawing 5 cards instead of 4 before mulligans)?
Ruling: Yes, 702.12 applies when a player draws extra cards during setup. Drawing cards is always a limited action regardless of when it occurs, and drawing more than entitled under the Core Rules triggers this infraction.
Sequence:
- If caught after cards are added to hand but within the round cycle, apply remedy 702.12.b.2
- The next opponent in turn order looks at the erroring player's hand
- That opponent chooses the appropriate number of cards to shuffle back into the main deck
Nuances:
- The wording of 398.2.a defining limited actions as occurring during "turn's progression" is confusing and could be clearer, as it technically doesn't cover setup
- Despite the confusing wording, the intent is clear that all draws are limited actions, whether during turns or setup
- Drawing cards with no game instruction at all (randomly drawing) would require investigation for potential cheating rather than falling under 702.12
- The phrase "as the result of a limited action" means drawing more than entitled during any legitimate draw instruction, not that the draw itself must originate from within a turn
Does using Meditation to exhaust a friendly unit on DreamingTree trigger the battlefield ability to draw +3 cards total?
Ruling: No, Meditation does not trigger DreamingTree's battlefield ability. You only draw the +1 card from Meditation itself.
Nuances:
- Meditation exhausts a unit as a cost of playing the spell, not as a target or chosen unit
- DreamingTree requires choosing/targeting a unit to trigger its ability
- Meditation does not choose a unit, so it cannot trigger DreamingTree
During a showdown, can you use Flight or Fight after passing focus initially if your opponent uses reaction spells?
Ruling: Yes, you can use action spells like Flight or Fight after initially passing focus if your opponent starts a chain with reaction spells.
Sequence:
- Attacker passes focus during showdown
- Defender uses reaction spells to buff their stats
- Chain resolves
- Attacker receives focus again and can now use action spells
- Combat only moves to the next step when both players pass focus without starting a chain
During a showdown, if I return my only defending unit to base, does my hidden card at that battlefield go to trash? Also, can I play 'Ride the Wind' to move a unit from my base to that battlefield as a defender?
Ruling: The hidden card does not go to trash because you still control the battlefield while the showdown is contested. You can play 'Ride the Wind' to move a unit from your base to the contested battlefield as a defender.
Sequence:
- Showdown begins when opponent attacks the battlefield
- Control cannot change while battlefield is contested
- Battlefield remains contested until showdown resolves
- Both players must pass priority with empty chain before damage
- After damage, showdown resolves
- Only then does control potentially change
Nuances:
- Even if all your units leave the battlefield during showdown, you maintain control until the showdown fully resolves
- Units can be added as defenders during the showdown using appropriate cards
For Azir's signature spell 'Arise!', can summoned Sand Soldiers be placed in different positions on the board?
Ruling: Yes, each Sand Soldier summoned by Arise! can be placed in a different legal position.
Nuances:
- Each placement choice is made independently for each soldier summoned
For Forgotten Monument, can you score it as soon as it's your 3rd turn, or do you have to wait until the 4th turn?
Ruling: You can score Forgotten Monument on your third turn as soon as the condition is met.
Sequence:
- Turn 1: Play a 2-cost unit
- Turn 2: Score the other field and play another unit
- Turn 3: Send the unit to Forgotten Monument and score it immediately
Nuances:
- The card does not say "at the end of your 3rd turn," so you score it as soon as the condition is satisfied during that turn
For Garbage Grabber, is 'Recycle 3 from your trash' part of the cost to draw 1, or does the 'Do as much as you can' rule apply so you only need to pay 1 Energy and exhaust to draw 1?
Ruling: Recycling 3 cards from your trash is part of the cost to activate the ability. You must be able to recycle 3, pay 1 energy, and exhaust Garbage Grabber in order to draw 1 card.
Nuances:
- "Do as much as you can" (DAMAYC) applies to resolution of effects on the chain when targets are killed/moved or other changes happen between when the spell/ability finalizes and resolves, not to paying costs.
For Overzealous Fan's ability, do you choose the target unit before or after deciding whether to sacrifice the Fan? Does targeting count for Ezreal Legend's ability even if you don't sacrifice?
Ruling: You choose the target unit when the trigger goes on the chain, before deciding whether to sacrifice Overzealous Fan. The sacrifice decision happens on resolution of the trigger. Targeting an enemy unit counts as one of Ezreal Legend's two choices even if you choose not to pay the sacrifice cost.
Sequence:
- Overzealous Fan's trigger activates when it defends
- You choose a target enemy unit when putting the trigger on the chain
- The trigger resolves
- On resolution, you decide whether to sacrifice Overzealous Fan
- If you pay the cost (sacrifice), the targeted unit moves back to base
- If you don't pay the cost, the targeted unit stays where it is
Nuances:
- You need a valid target to put the trigger on the chain in the first place
- The opponent can respond with "Not so Fast" to counter the ability before you decide to sacrifice, keeping your Fan alive
- If targeting a unit with Deflect, you must pay the Deflect cost when choosing the target
- This works similarly to Deathgrip and Reaver's Row mechanics
For Rek'Sai's legend ability, do you have to pay the full cost of the unit? Also, if Candlelit Sanctum's battlefield effect triggers at the same time as Rek'Sai's legend ability, which resolves first?
Ruling: Yes, you must pay the full cost of the unit (or non-unit card) when using Rek'Sai's legend ability. Only effects that explicitly say "ignoring [their/its] cost" allow you to play cards for free, and even then only the base cost is ignored.
Sequence: (for Candlelit Sanctum interaction)
- When both Candlelit Sanctum's battlefield effect and Rek'Sai's legend ability trigger from the same event, you control both triggers
- You may order them as you please since you control both effects
Nuances:
- Rek'Sai's ability works with non-unit cards as well, not just units
- You still pay the full cost for those cards unless an effect specifically says to ignore cost
For Summoner Skirmish deck checks, do you check only the 40 cards + 12 runes being played that game, or the entire deck box including all 48 main deckable cards + sideboard?
Ruling: Check the entire deck box, including both the main deck and sideboard. You must verify the correctness of the sideboard against the decklist to ensure no unregistered cards are present.
Sequence:
- Take the entire deck box when performing a deck check
- Verify the main deck (40 cards + 12 runes) being played
- Verify the sideboard (8 cards or 0 cards) against the decklist
- Keep the presented deck and deck box contents organized to clearly identify what the player is attempting to play with
Nuances:
- Without checking the sideboard, there's no guarantee that unregistered cards aren't hidden in the deck box
- A player cannot prove they didn't use an illegal card if excess cards are found in the deck box but not checked
- The sideboard is considered part of what is presented to the opponent according to tournament rules
For Tryndamere's excess damage ability, if the battlefield has 2 units with 3 Might each, does excess damage count after killing one unit (since 5 damage remains), or must there be 5 excess damage after ALL units are killed?
Ruling: Excess damage only counts after ALL defending units are killed. You must assign lethal damage to all units before any damage can be considered "excess."
Sequence:
- Assign damage to first defending unit until lethal (3 damage)
- Assign remaining damage to second defending unit until lethal (3 more damage)
- Only after both units have lethal damage assigned can the remaining damage (2 in this case) be considered excess
- If Tryndamere attacks with an ally who can kill one unit, then Tryndamere's 8 damage against the remaining 3 Might unit would result in 5 excess damage
Nuances:
- Units cannot have more damage assigned than minimum lethal unless no further units remain to have damage assigned
- Units that cannot be dealt damage (like immune Kayn) are exempt from mandatory damage assignment rules, meaning you can choose whether to assign damage to them or not, but they don't block excess damage calculation if you choose not to assign to them
For cards like Void Seeker and Stupefy, do you still draw a card if the opponent retreats the targeted unit?
Ruling: Yes, you still draw the card. The spell resolves even if some or all of its targets become illegal.
Nuances:
- Only instructions that specifically need or refer to a target can mistarget
- Other effects on the spell (like drawing a card) still resolve normally even when the target becomes illegal
Has the Draven legend card been errata'd to once per turn?
Ruling: No, the Draven legend card has not been errata'd to once per turn and should operate as normal.
Nuances:
- No official errata announcement has been made
- No information from Chinese sources indicates a change
- There is no clear design reason requiring such an errata given the practical limitations of engaging in combat multiple times per turn
Has the Judge Discord opened yet, and when will judges get access to it?
Ruling: The Judge Discord has not opened yet as of this conversation, and there is no confirmed timeline for when it will be available.
Nuances:
- According to information from UVS, the Judge Discord should open "Very Soon" as Riot has onboarded a Judge Manager/Liaison role to interface with tournament policy
- To advance from L1 to higher judge levels, judges will likely need to judge events and earn judge points (subject to change)
How are judges compensated for working Skirmishes or higher-level events in Riftbound?
Ruling: Judge compensation is determined by the Tournament Organizer (TO). There are no standardized compensation guidelines or judge promos currently available for Skirmishes.
Nuances:
- Judge promos (Heimer promo) exist but the distribution method is unclear and they haven't been sent out yet
- The judge program is still in early stages with many details undefined (no judge Discord, no Level 2 information)
- Judges cannot play in High OPL events (including Skirmishes) that they are judging or organizing
- Judges can only participate as players in Low OPL events they are judging
How do Deathknell abilities on Equipment Gear or copied by Svellsongur work if equipment is only attached while the unit is in play, but Deathknell triggers after the unit dies and moves to trash?
Ruling: There is currently no official ruling on how Deathknell abilities interact with Equipment Gear or Svellsongur copying Deathknell abilities. This is a known rules gap awaiting clarification in version 1.2.
Nuances:
- The current rules don't support these interactions properly since equipment detaches when units leave play, but before Deathknell would trigger
- Temporary guidance is to play by "vibes" (assume it works as intended) until official ruling
- Potential solution being considered is adding a "marked for death" step during cleanup before moving to trash, allowing Deathknell to trigger while unit is still in play
- This issue also affects cards like Kog'Maw that reference unit stats in Deathknell effects
- Any rules change to fix this may have implications for other cards like Cruel Patron
How do I upload a deck list when signing up for a Riftbound skirmish event?
Ruling: If the TO has enabled decklists for the event, you will see an "add deck" button on the event page on the Riftbound website.
Sequence:
- Create your deck at https://locator.riftbound.uvsgames.com/decks
- Navigate to the event page on the Riftbound site
- Attach your deck to the event using the add deck button (if available)
Nuances:
- Deck list upload is only available if the Tournament Organizer has enabled this feature for the specific event
How do Priority and Focus work in Riftbound, particularly during showdowns?
Ruling: Focus is the permission to play actions or reactions while you have priority. Priority is the permission to play reactions and the permission to play cards or abilities at all.
Sequence:
- During showdowns, the contesting player gets focus first
- After a chain resolves, the other player gets focus, and this can alternate many times
- If you have focus and pass it, and the other player also passes, the showdown ends and moves to resolution
- You get priority during your turn's action phase (after you draw before you end your turn) and whenever you get focus during a showdown
- As abilities or spells are played or a chain resolves, you get priority giving you chances to respond
Nuances:
- A showdown is the overarching event that chains sit within, not a chain itself
- Once a showdown ends, no more action cards can be played
- Passing focus is not the same as focus changing after chain resolution
How do Trifarian War Camp's +1 Might buff and Thousand-Tailed Watcher's -3 Might debuff interact? Is the +1 Might snapshotted, and what happens when a unit leaves the battlefield after being affected by both effects?
Ruling: Might modifiers are applied symmetrically and continuously, not snapshotted. When a unit is in Trifarian War Camp, it has +1 Might; when affected by Thousand-Tailed Watcher, it gets -3 Might (minimum 1). If the unit leaves the camp, the +1 Might bonus is removed, and the -3 Might effect continues to apply to the new base value.
Sequence:
- Unit enters Trifarian War Camp battlefield: gains +1 Might
- Thousand-Tailed Watcher effect applies: -3 Might (minimum 1 Might total)
- Unit leaves Trifarian War Camp: loses +1 Might bonus, -3 Might effect still applies to resulting value
Nuances:
- Might can be reduced to 0, but units only die when they have positive damage marked on them
- Effects are not retroactively computed; you snapshot effects at the time they're applied and don't recalculate based on previous modifiers that would have applied differently
- The minimum 1 Might restriction from Thousand-Tailed Watcher means a 2M unit at 3M (in camp) goes to 1M, effectively calculating as -2M for future modifications
How do hidden cards work in Riftbound, including: cost to hide vs play, battlefield placement/targeting rules, same-turn play restrictions, and what happens if you lose control of the battlefield?
Ruling: To hide a card costs 1 recycle energy. Playing a card from hidden costs exactly 0 energy (you don't pay the card's energy cost again). You can only hide cards on a battlefield you control, and you cannot play a card from hidden on the same turn you hid it (no exceptions).
Sequence:
- Pay 1 recycle energy to hide a card on a battlefield you control
- Wait until a future turn
- Play the card from hidden for 0 energy cost
Nuances:
- When playing from hidden, any targets/choices must be from that same battlefield if possible
- Cards with global effects (like Zhonya's) still work globally when played from hidden
- Cards that can target any battlefield when played from hand (like Fog of War) can only target their own battlefield when played from hidden
- If you lose control of the battlefield where a hidden card is placed, that hidden card goes to trash
- Even if a reaction chain starts on the same turn you hid a card, you still cannot play it from hidden that turn