If Darius is in a battlefront and an enemy enters that battlefront, does he get +2 attack if I play 2 reaction spells during the opponent's turn?
Ruling: Yes, Darius gets +2 attack if you play 2 reaction spells. His trigger is available to activate regardless of whose turn the spells are played on.
Nuances:
- The trigger works on any turn, not just your own
- Each reaction spell played will trigger Darius separately
If Darius is played as the second card in a turn (after another card like Hextech Ray), does he enter the game ready with +2 power?
Ruling: Yes, Darius enters the game ready with +2 power when played as the second card in a turn.
Sequence:
- Play first card (e.g., Hextech Ray)
- Play Darius as second card
- Darius enters ready with +2 power
If Darius is reduced to 0 health by Void Seeker, then the opponent uses an action and reaction during combat, and I play Stupefy in response, does Darius die before his ability resolves or does he get +2/+2 first?
Ruling: If Stupefy resolves before Darius's action, then Darius dies before getting the +2/+2 buff.
Sequence:
- Void Seeker resolves, reducing Darius to 0 health
- During combat, opponent uses action and reaction
- You play Stupefy in response
- If Stupefy resolves first, it counters the action
- Darius dies before the +2/+2 can apply
Nuances:
- The key is whether Stupefy resolves before Darius's action resolves on the stack
If Deadbloom is played from Aurora at end of turn and conquers, does Targon's Peak trigger to ready two runes, or was the end of turn timing missed?
Ruling: You do not get the Targon's Peak trigger because end of turn triggers only happen once at the beginning of the end of turn phase. If you're already in the middle of that phase when Targon's Peak enters play, its end of turn trigger cannot occur anymore.
Nuances:
- Triggers that happen at specific phases (like end of turn or beginning of turn) only occur once, at the beginning of that phase
- If Targon's Peak did trigger, you can respond to the rune readying trigger
- Once the untap trigger resolves, you cannot play anything else unless there are more triggers to react to
- The runes would not ready on the opponent's next end of turn because Targon's Peak specifies "this turn"
If Draven has +5 might from his passive (making him 8 total might), can Baited Hook (which reveals units with 2-3 might) reveal and play him from the deck?
Ruling: Yes, Baited Hook can reveal and play Draven because it looks at the original might of units in the deck (3 might), where Draven's passive is not active. His passive only applies when he is on the board.
Sequence:
- Baited Hook checks the original might value of units while they are in the deck
- Draven's original might is 3, so he can be revealed by Baited Hook
- Once Draven enters the board, his passive immediately applies and he becomes mighty
Nuances:
- If Baited Hook kills a Draven that is already on the board for its effect, it would use the modified might value (8), not the original
- When Draven is played alongside Volibear (who checks for mighty units), Draven enters the board as mighty because his passive is active the instant he hits the board, before any checks occur
- There is never a moment where Draven is on the board without his passive being active
If Draven is at 6 points and hasn't scored from a battlefield yet this turn, can he win the game by winning combat (getting his 7th point from winning combat, then his 8th point from conquering)?
Ruling: This timing is currently unclear in the rules and awaiting official clarification. The community consensus leans toward conquering happening first (during combat resolution), then Draven's "when I win combat" trigger happening after combat ends, which would mean you score the conquer point first (reaching 7), then the Draven point (reaching 8 and winning).
Sequence: (Most likely interpretation)
- Combat damage occurs
- Combat cleanup happens (units die)
- Combat resolution step: You conquer the battlefield and score a point (6→7)
- Combat ends
- Draven's "when I win combat" trigger goes on the chain and resolves, scoring another point (7→8, winning the game)
Nuances:
- The exact timing of when "winning combat" is determined versus when conquering occurs is not explicitly defined in the current rules
- A feedback thread has been created requesting official clarification
- You can still win with Draven's ability by being at 7 points before combat starts, or by having already scored from that battlefield this turn
If Draven's Spinning Axes (temporary equipment) triggers at the start of Beginning Phase, but you respond by attaching them with Angle Shot before the trigger resolves, do the axes still get killed?
Ruling: Yes, the axes will still be killed. Once the temporary trigger has been placed on the chain, attaching the equipment in response does not save it - the trigger will resolve and kill the equipment even though it is now attached.
Sequence:
- At the start of Beginning Phase, if the equipment is unattached, the temporary trigger goes on the chain
- If you respond by attaching the equipment (e.g., with Angle Shot), the text becomes inactive
- However, the trigger is already finalized on the chain
- When the trigger resolves, it kills the equipment regardless of whether it is now attached
Nuances:
- If the axes are already attached before the start of Beginning Phase, the temporary trigger will not activate at all because the text is inactive while attached
- This is different from effects like Grand Plaza that have conditional "if" clauses after the comma, which are checked on resolution
- Making card text inactive does not erase triggers that are already on the chain
- The reminder text "if this is unattached" is not rules text, just clarification
If Ember Monk is on the battlefield and I play Consult the Past from hidden, but my opponent plays Defy on it, does Ember Monk still get +2 might?
Ruling: No, Ember Monk does not get +2 might. In Riftbound, a card is not considered "played" until it fully resolves. Since Defy counters Consult the Past before it resolves, it was never "played" and therefore does not trigger Ember Monk's ability.
Sequence:
- You attempt to play Consult the Past from hidden
- Opponent plays Defy targeting Consult the Past
- Consult the Past is countered and does not resolve
- Since Consult the Past never resolved, it was never "played"
- Ember Monk's trigger condition is not met, so no +2 might
Nuances:
- There is a distinction between "play" (the act of putting a card on the chain) and "played" (a card that has resolved)
- Cards with "When You Play Me" (WYPM) triggers work differently because they are permanents that resolve instantly before their triggers go on the chain
- The rules language around "play" vs "played" has some inconsistencies that may create edge cases with cards like Raging Firebrand
If Ezreal is defending and triggers his on-defend ability, then you play Arcane Shift to replay him to the same battlefield, does he trigger his on-defend ability again?
Ruling: Yes, Ezreal will trigger his on-defend ability again. When Arcane Shift replays Ezreal, it creates a new instance of the unit that gains the defender designation for the first time, triggering the ability.
Sequence:
- Ezreal defends and his on-defend ability triggers and resolves
- Play Arcane Shift, which banishes and replays Ezreal to the same battlefield (dealing 3 damage from Arcane Shift)
- The new Ezreal instance gains defender status for the first time
- Ezreal's on-defend ability triggers again
Nuances:
- Simply moving a unit in and out of combat does not grant a second trigger; Arcane Shift works because it replays the unit as a new instance
- All gear on Ezreal drops to your base when banished, so the second trigger will only deal 3 damage (base power)
- On-attack/on-defend triggers occur when a unit gains the designation for the first time in combat, not just at the beginning of combat
- This interaction only works on defense (not offense) because you can only play units to zones you control
- If you use Ride the Wind to move Ezreal to another battlefield, he would trigger again there, but only after the current showdown ends and only if he's still present when the new showdown begins
If Ferrous Forerunner dies while equipped with Svellsongur, does its Deathknell trigger twice (from the gear effect) or does the gear detach on death, preventing the double trigger?
Ruling: Ferrous Forerunner's Deathknell triggers twice when equipped with Svellsongur. Deathknell triggers before cards go to trash, so Ferrous will still have Svellsongur attached when the Deathknell triggers resolve.
Sequence:
- Ferrous Forerunner dies
- Deathknell triggers (twice due to Svellsongur's effect)
- Both Deathknell triggers resolve while Svellsongur is still attached
- Cards then go to trash
Nuances:
- This combination is not currently possible in constructed play because Ferrous Forerunner and Svellsongur are different colors (red and green)
- This interaction can occur in sealed format
If Fiora attacks a battlefield with 1 unit and 1 hidden card, her might doubles. If the opponent then reveals the hidden card (Pakaa Cub) as a unit, does her might get reduced back to normal?
Ruling: Once Fiora's ability triggers and goes on the chain, her might will double when it resolves. The trigger condition ("one on one") is checked when the ability triggers, not when it resolves, so revealing the hidden card afterward does not prevent the might doubling.
Sequence:
- Fiora attacks a battlefield with 1 unit and 1 hidden card
- Her ability triggers and goes on the chain (condition met: only 1 unit visible)
- Opponent cannot flip the hidden card as a reaction to prevent the trigger
- Ability resolves and her might doubles
Nuances:
- The "one on one" condition is part of the trigger condition, not the effect, so it's checked at trigger time only
- Once the ability is on the chain, revealing additional units will not undo or prevent the might doubling
If Fiora with Warmog conquers on Sunken Temple and becomes mighty from Warmog's buff, does Sunken Temple trigger?
Ruling: No, Sunken Temple does not trigger. Sunken Temple checks if the conquering unit is mighty at the moment the conquer happens, not after triggers resolve.
Sequence:
- Fiora conquers (not mighty yet)
- Sunken Temple checks for mighty units at this moment - Fiora does not qualify
- Warmog trigger goes on stack
- Warmog resolves, making Fiora mighty
- Sunken Temple trigger window has already passed
Nuances:
- The timing is missed because Fiora only becomes mighty after Warmog resolves, which is after the game checks for Sunken Temple's trigger condition
If Fiora, Peerless is moved to base by Fight or Flight during combat, can she still be chosen by Challenge to deal her doubled damage before combat ends?
Ruling: Yes, Fiora can be chosen by Challenge and deal her doubled 6 damage. Combat does not end when Fight or Flight resolves and moves Fiora to base.
Sequence:
- Fiora defends at battlefield and triggers her On Defend ability, doubling her might to 6 during the Initial Chain
- Initial Chain closes
- Fight or Flight is played, targeting Fiora
- Fiora moves to base when Fight or Flight resolves
- Combat continues - both players can still play cards
- Challenge can be played, choosing Fiora and the attacking unit
- Fiora deals 6 damage
- Combat only ends when both players pass with focus on an empty chain
Nuances:
- Fiora retains her doubled might even after moving to base, as the buff persists for the duration of combat
- A unit moving out of the battlefield during combat does not automatically end the combat
If Fiora, Victorious is equipped with Svellsongur (giving her two instances of 'While I'm Mighty, I have Shield'), and she uses a buff while defending, does she stay Mighty due to the Shield keywords, or does she lose both Shield instances because she's evaluated from her base state?
Ruling: Fiora loses both Shield instances and does not stay Mighty. Units are always evaluated from their base state, so without the buff, she does not have Mighty and therefore does not gain the conditional Shield keywords.
Nuances:
- This is a layers/dependency question where conditional abilities don't create self-sustaining loops
- The Shield keywords are dependent on Mighty status, but Mighty status is evaluated from the base unit state first
If Fizz targets a discarded Arcane Shift from trash, will Arcane Shift get recycled after it gets banished?
Ruling: No, Fizz cannot recycle Arcane Shift after it gets banished. Effects can only interact with banished cards if they were the ones that banished that card.
Sequence:
- Fizz targets Arcane Shift in trash
- Arcane Shift gets banished (due to its own effect)
- Fizz can no longer interact with the card because it didn't banish it
- Arcane Shift is not recycled
Nuances:
- An effect can only interact with a banished card if that same effect was responsible for banishing it
- Once a card moves to banish zone, effects that didn't cause the banishment lose the ability to reference that card
If Green Jax gives all gear Quickdraw, and I play Svellsongur as a reaction during combat, will Svellsongur copy White Flame Protector's on-play ability to give +8 to a unit?
Ruling: No, Svellsongur gives units a copy of their own abilities, not abilities from other units. White Flame Protector will have two copies of its own "when you play me" ability, but nothing will trigger them since the unit is already in play.
Nuances:
- Svellsongur only copies abilities that belong to the unit itself
- The copied abilities on White Flame Protector won't trigger because the unit has already been played
If Green Yasuo's on-attack trigger is responded to with Fight or Flight (moving the opponent's unit to a different location), does Yasuo's ability still resolve?
Ruling: Green Yasuo's ability will mistarget and not resolve because "here" refers to Yasuo's location, which is no longer where the target unit is after Fight or Flight moves it.
Nuances:
- The ability targets a unit at a specific location ("here" = Yasuo's location)
- Even though the opponent's unit is still on the battlefield, it's no longer at the required location
- This results in a mistarget, causing the ability to fail to resolve
If Here to Help (from Hidden) plays Fizz, can Fizz play a spell at reaction speed? Can Fizz play cards like Invert Timelines in this scenario?
Ruling: Yes, Fizz can play spells at reaction speed when played by Here to Help, including cards like Invert Timelines. You still have to pay the power costs for any cards played.
Nuances:
- Fizz can even play the same Here to Help that summoned him, since Here to Help fully resolves and goes to the trash before Fizz's triggered ability resolves
If Hidden Blade is flipped from hidden to kill a unit at a battlefield, and in response Tideturner is flipped to move that unit to a different battlefield, does Hidden Blade lose its target?
Ruling: Yes, Hidden Blade loses its target and no unit will die and no cards will be drawn. However, the card is still considered played (so effects like Ravenbloom that trigger on playing cards still work).
Sequence:
- Hidden Blade is flipped from hidden targeting a unit at a specific battlefield
- Tideturner is flipped in response, moving the unit to a different battlefield
- Hidden Blade resolves but the target is now illegal (unit is at a different battlefield)
- No unit dies and no cards are drawn
- Hidden Blade is still considered played for other card effects
Nuances:
- Hidden Blade played from hand only requires the unit to be at any battlefield at resolution
- Hidden Blade played from hidden has an extra targeting requirement that the unit must be at that specific battlefield
- When played from hidden, if the target becomes illegal, the controller cannot be determined, so no cards are drawn
- Effects always resolve doing as much as they can unless countered
- This interaction does NOT work the same way with Riptide Rex, as Rex only requires the unit to be at any battlefield
If Hidden Blade is used to kill a buffed unit before Blitzcrank can grab it, and Sett's legend effect saves the unit, does the unit still count as a legal target for Blitzcrank?
Ruling: The unit remains a valid target for Blitzcrank. You will save the unit and draw 2 cards from Hidden Blade, but the unit still gets pulled to fight Blitzcrank.
Sequence:
- Hidden Blade kills the buffed unit
- Unit returns to base (saved by Sett's effect)
- Draw 2 cards from Hidden Blade
- Unit still gets pulled by Blitzcrank to fight it
- Unit fights Blitzcrank without its buff
Nuances:
- Blitzcrank has no location restriction on where the enemy target has to be, so it can pull from base
- If Blitzcrank's text specified "on a battlefield" as a targeting requirement, then recalling the unit would cause the effect to whiff
If Hidden Blade targets a unit at a battlefield, but the opponent uses Flash to return that unit to base in response, does Hidden Blade still draw 2 cards?
Ruling: No, Hidden Blade does not draw any cards. When the target becomes illegal (unit returned to base), all information about the target returns null, including owner information.
Sequence:
- Player B plays Hidden Blade targeting Player A's unit at a battlefield
- Player A responds with Flash, returning the unit to base
- When Hidden Blade resolves, the target is no longer at the battlefield (illegal target)
- The game returns null for all information about the illegal target
- Null owner draws 2 cards (which means no cards are drawn for the actual player)
Nuances:
- The key restriction is "unit at a battlefield" - even though the unit still exists in the game, it's no longer at the required location
- If the unit moves to a different battlefield (e.g., via Ride the Wind) and Hidden Blade was played hidden targeting the original battlefield, the target also becomes illegal
- If Hidden Blade was played from hand (not hidden), targeting a unit at a different battlefield would be valid
If Hidden Blade targets a unit but the opponent uses Hourglass to save it, does Hidden Blade still resolve and does the unit's controller still draw 2 cards?
Ruling: Hidden Blade still fully resolves even if Hourglass replaces the kill effect. The targeted unit's controller still draws 2 cards because Hidden Blade has no conditional "if you do" clause that would prevent the draw from happening.
Nuances:
- Even when game actions used as costs are replaced (like a kill being replaced by Hourglass), those costs are still considered paid
- Hidden Blade would need text like "if you do" or "killed unit's controller" to prevent the draw when the kill is replaced, but it lacks such conditional language
If I activate Temporal Portal's ability and play Hidden Blade with Repeat, targeting the same unit (Stalwart Poro) twice, and it dies, do I draw 2 or 4 cards?
Ruling: This interaction lacks clear resolution in the current rules. The community is divided between two interpretations with no official answer yet.
Two Main Interpretations:
Draw 4 Position:
- The spell moved the unit to a different zone, so rule 356.3.e.13 allows the spell to "look back" at the unit's characteristics (including its controller) for all instructions within that spell
- Since Repeat creates one spell that executes instructions twice, both "its controller draws 2" instructions can reference the same target's information
- The spell as a whole caused the zone change, so all instructions can access that information
Draw 2 Position:
- Target legality should be checked as each instruction executes, not just at the start of resolution
- The second "Kill a unit at a battlefield" instruction has an illegal target (unit is already dead/in trash)
- When the target becomes illegal, "its controller" returns null per 356.3.e.12
- Each targeting choice creates a discrete block of instructions that must independently verify target legality
Nuances:
- This same ambiguity affects Hidden Blade + Zhonya's Hourglass with Repeat (does the unit die through Zhonya's on the second kill?)
- The core issue is whether 356.3.e rules check target legality once at resolution start or continuously during resolution
- Rule 356.3.e.13 may be overly broad in allowing spells to reference units they moved
- The phrase "by the time the spell is finished being played" in 356.3.e is ambiguous
- Riot has acknowledged the thread but provided no official ruling yet
- This will likely be addressed in a future Comprehensive Rules Document update or FAQ
If I buff a 2 might unit to 4 might in response to Gust targeting it, what happens to Gust?
Ruling: Gust still resolves and triggers any relevant effects (like Darius or Student abilities), but it has no effect on the now-illegal target.
Nuances:
- The target of Gust is locked in when the card is finalized and cannot be changed, even if other legal targets exist when it resolves
- The card still "resolves" for trigger purposes even though its effect does nothing
If I cast Noxian Guillotine (without legion) on an opponent's 4 might unit that has Zhonya's Hourglass hidden, and then my 4 might unit attacks it in combat, does the opponent's unit survive or die?
The opponent's unit dies. Here's the sequence: (1) During the Combat Damage Step, both 4 might units deal damage to each other simultaneously. (2) An automatic Cleanup begins. (3) During Cleanup step, units with lethal damage are killed - but Zhonya's Hourglass replacement effect applies here, recalling the unit to base (healed) instead of it dying. (4) During Cleanup step (8), Noxian Guillotine's delayed trigger is finalized as a Pending Chain Item. (5) After Cleanup completes, the chain must resolve before the game can proceed. (6) Noxian Guillotine resolves and kills the unit. Zhonya's cannot save the unit a second time because it already used its 'next time a friendly unit would die' replacement effect during step(and Zhonya's kills itself when used). The key point is that the game does not allow a chain item to go on the chain and resolve without a cleanup occurring first, and Zhonya's only replaces one death.
If I control Cynthia and play Pit Rookie, can I give Cynthia a buff from her trigger, spend it to activate Call to Glory, and then buff Cynthia again with Pit Rookie's trigger?
Ruling: Yes, you can buff Cynthia from her trigger, spend that buff to activate Call to Glory, and then buff Cynthia again with Pit Rookie's trigger.
Sequence:
- Cynthia's trigger resolves first, giving her a buff
- You can spend that buff to activate Call to Glory
- Pit Rookie's trigger then resolves, allowing you to buff Cynthia again
If I control a Battlefield with a sprite from last turn that will die during the Awaken-Beginning step, can I react by playing Shen to that Battlefield before the sprite dies, and do I score points without triggering a showdown?
Ruling: Yes, you can react to the temporary trigger (sprite dying) by playing Shen to the Battlefield. Because Shen resolves before the temporary trigger (last in, first out), you score points with Shen without triggering a showdown.
Sequence:
- Awaken-Beginning step starts, sprite's temporary trigger goes on the chain
- You can react by playing Shen to the Battlefield
- Shen resolves first (last in, first out), you score points
- Sprite dies after Shen resolves
- No showdown occurs because you already controlled the Battlefield when Shen was played
Nuances:
- This works the same as playing a unit to a battlefield you already control normally
- You get both the score point and the hold point from Shen
If I control a battlefield on my turn but then move all my units off of it, do I retain control until end of turn and can I still play units there?
Ruling: No, you lose control of the battlefield immediately after moving your units off of it during the cleanup step, and you cannot play units there without control.
Sequence:
- Step 1: You move your units off the battlefield
- Step 2: During cleanup (step 4), you lose control of the battlefield
- Step 3: You can no longer play units to that battlefield without control
If I get targeted by Smokescreen and the user paid the deflect cost, can I then Defy their Smokescreen?
Ruling: Yes, you can Defy a Smokescreen even if the caster paid the deflect cost. Paying the deflect cost is an additional cost to cast Smokescreen, but Smokescreen itself still meets the requirements for Defy to counter it.
If I have 2 units at a battlefield but one is recalled or killed after my opponent moves in and starts a showdown, does my remaining unit get the 'when I defend alone' bonus?
Ruling: No, "when I defend alone" bonuses do not trigger in this situation. These abilities only trigger when a unit gains the defender designation, and at that moment the unit was not alone.
Nuances:
- "While I defend alone" passives (like those on Wielder of Water or Master Yi) would activate, as these are not timing-based and update in real time based on the current battlefield situation
- The distinction is between "when" triggers (timing-based, check conditions at moment of gaining defender status) and "while" passives (continuous, check current state)
If I have a hidden Fight or Flight and my opponent casts Hidden Blade targeting my unit, can I react to move my unit back to base to save it? Does Hidden Blade still resolve (killing the unit and/or drawing cards)?
Ruling: If you use Fight or Flight to move the unit back to base in response to Hidden Blade, the unit becomes an illegal target. Hidden Blade will mistarget on resolution, so the unit will not die and no one will draw cards.
Sequence:
- Hidden Blade is cast targeting a unit at a battlefield
- Fight or Flight is revealed, moving the unit back to base
- Hidden Blade resolves but the target is now illegal (not at a battlefield)
- The spell mistargets, making the controller reference null
- No effects occur: unit doesn't die, no cards are drawn
Nuances:
- This is different from replacement effects like Zhonya's or Sett that prevent death. With those, the unit dying still "occurred" so the controller would still draw 2 cards.
- When a target becomes illegal, information checks about that target (like "its controller") return null and calculations based on it are ignored.
If I have a solo defender and my opponent attacks, can I use Arcane Shift on that defender without immediately losing control of the battlefield and the showdown?
Ruling: You maintain control of the battlefield during the showdown and can replay the unit to that battlefield. The player who controls a battlefield at the beginning of a showdown maintains control until the showdown is completed, even if they temporarily have no units there.
Sequence:
- Opponent attacks your solo defender
- You play Arcane Shift, banishing your defender
- You still control the battlefield (contested status prevents loss of control)
- You replay the banished unit to the battlefield
- Combat continues and eventually resolves
- Contested status clears during combat resolution step
Nuances:
- This only works during a showdown. If you play Arcane Shift when the battlefield is not contested (during your own turn or at a different battlefield), you would lose control after Arcane Shift resolves and before you can replay the unit, making you unable to choose that battlefield as the replay location.
If I have a sprite that dies at the start of my turn due to Temporary, does Zhonya's Hourglass proc and save that sprite? If so, will the sprite still have the keyword Temporary?
Yes, Zhonya's Hourglass will proc and save the sprite. The replacement effect intercedes when Temporary triggers, killing Zhonya's Hourglass instead and recalling the sprite to base (healing and exhausting it). The sprite survives because base is a Board location, not a Non-Board Zone. The sprite retains Temporary because it never left the Board. However, this only buys one turn—next turn, Temporary will kill the sprite again since Zhonya's Hourglass is already dead.
If I have a unit and a hidden Tide Turner at a battlefront, and my opponent attacks that battlefront and uses Fight or Flight on my unit, can I wait for Fight or Flight to resolve before using Tide Turner to swap the unit back to the battlefront?
Ruling: Yes, you can wait for Fight or Flight to resolve before using Tide Turner. You maintain control of the battlefront until the end of the combat showdown, so your hidden card is not discarded until after that point.
Sequence:
- Combat opens at the battlefront
- Fight or Flight resolves during combat
- Combat showdown occurs
- You can use Tide Turner anytime before the combat showdown ends
- Once combat showdown ends and resolution begins, you lose control and the hidden card would be discarded
Nuances:
- Deathknell triggers during resolution can create additional opportunities to act before losing control
If I have a unit on Dreaming Tree and my opponent plays Cull the Weak, do I draw a card when I choose that unit to kill?
No, you do not draw. Dreaming Tree says "The first time you choose a friendly unit with a spell here each turn, draw 1." Cull the Weak does not target units—it instructs each player to choose a unit they control as the spell resolves. When a set of objects is chosen in whole or in part by other players during resolution, it does not count as targeting. While you are making the choice of which unit to kill, you are not "choosing a friendly unit with a spell" in the targeting sense that Dreaming Tree requires. Dreaming Tree triggers when you actively target a friendly unit with a spell (like using a buff or targeted removal on your own unit), not when you make a choice during a spell's resolution.
If I have equipment that gives +2 Might, how much Might does Gearhead get when Svellsongur is also in play?
Ruling: Gearhead with Svellsongur attached gives +4 Might from a +2 Might equipment. The second instance of "double its base might bonus" from Svellsongur does not stack with Gearhead's existing ability.
Sequence:
- Gearhead's ability makes equipment give double its base Might bonus (+2 becomes +4)
- Svellsongur adds a second identical ability to Gearhead
- Both abilities reference "base might bonus" (which is still +2)
- Since both abilities set the same value (double of +2 = +4), they don't stack
- Final result: +4 Might
Nuances:
- The key word is "base" - both doubling effects look at the original +2 value, not at each other's results
- The ability uses "gives" not "doubles", which affects how the effects layer
- This makes Svellsongur redundant when attached to Gearhead
If I have hidden a Flight or Fight and my opponent casts Hidden Blade, can I react to move my unit back to base and save it? Or does the Hidden Blade effect still happen even though my unit would not be at a battlefield?
Yes, you can save your unit this way. If you move your unit to base in response to Hidden Blade being played (before it resolves), your unit changes zones from a battlefield to base. A target is illegal as the spell resolves if it no longer meets the targeting requirements of the spell, or if it has changed Zones to or from a Non-Board Zone. Since your unit is no longer 'at a battlefield' when Hidden Blade tries to resolve, it becomes an illegal target. If any of the spell's targets are no longer legal, those targets are unaffected by the spell as it resolves. The result is that your unit is not killed (it's safely at base) and your opponent does not draw 2 cards (because the target became illegal, the entire effect fails to apply). This is a valid and effective defensive play.
If I have multiple Void Hatchlings in play and an effect reveals the top card of my deck, do all the Void Hatchlings trigger separately? Specifically, if Undertitan is on top, would revealing it multiple times via multiple Hatchlings generate energy each time?
Ruling: Void Hatchling is a replacement effect, not a triggered ability. You only replace the reveal action once, regardless of how many Void Hatchlings you have in play.
Nuances:
- Even if multiple Hatchlings could apply, you would only reveal the card once total, not once per Hatchling
- The card text may be clarified in future rules updates to include clearer replacement effect language like "instead"
- This ruling is based on current comprehensive rules interpretation, subject to change when these cards officially release
If I have two Irelia Graceful on the board and target them both with a single spell (such as one with repeat), does the spell cost get reduced by 2?
Ruling: Yes, if you have two Irelia Graceful units and a single spell targets both of them, the spell's cost is reduced by 2 total (1 for each Irelia targeted).
Sequence:
- Calculate the total cost of the spell including any additional costs like repeat
- Apply cost reductions: each distinct Irelia Graceful targeted reduces the total cost by 1
- Pay the final modified cost
Nuances:
- If you target the same Irelia twice with one spell, it only reduces the cost once (not twice)
- The reduction applies to the total spell cost after additional costs are added, not separately to base cost and repeat cost
- Cost reductions are applied after additional costs are calculated
If I kill a Hostile Takeover Ekko, does the death knell effect go to me or the Ekko player?
Ruling: With the 1.2 rules changes to cleanups, death knells now trigger for their controller on death. In this scenario, you (the player who took control of Ekko with Hostile Takeover) would get the death knell effect.
Nuances:
- This reflects the new cleanup rules in version 1.2 where death knells work as intended for the controller at the time of death
If I kill my own Forge of the Future, can I choose which specific cards from my opponent's trash to recycle (up to 4 total)?
Ruling: Yes, you target 0-4 cards in any combination from any trashes (yours and/or your opponent's), and those specific cards are recycled.
Nuances:
- You have full control over which cards to recycle, not just how many
- Cards can come from any combination of trashes
If I kill my own unit in reaction to Falling Star being cast (leaving me with no units), does my opponent have to target their own units? Can they target the same unit twice even if it would die from the first damage trigger?
Ruling: When Falling Star is cast, it creates two reflexive triggers that go on the stack simultaneously. The caster must choose all targets for both triggers at that moment, before any damage resolves. If the opponent has no valid targets, the caster must target their own units.
Sequence:
- Falling Star is cast
- Two "deal 3 damage" triggers are created and go on the stack simultaneously
- All targets for both triggers must be chosen immediately
- Players can then react before each trigger resolves
- Damage resolves one trigger at a time
Nuances:
- The same unit can be targeted twice, even if it has less than 4 Might, because targets are locked in before any damage resolves
- This same targeting mechanic applies to other similar cards like Icathian Rain
If I move Sett into a battlefield to start a showdown, then during the showdown I play Zenith Blade to move Leona (Determined) to that battlefield, does Leona's 'When I attack' trigger activate, or did she need to be present when the showdown started?
Yes, Leona's 'When I attack' trigger will activate. Leona does not need to be present when the Showdown starts.If a Unit controlled by the Attacker becomes present at the battlefield after Combat begins, it will gain the Attacker designation during the Cleanup phase following the action that caused it to become present. The sequence works as follows: (1) Showdown begins when Sett moves to the battlefield, (2) Focus passes and you play Zenith Blade during the Showdown, (3) Zenith Blade resolves and moves Leona to the battlefield, (4) During Cleanup after Zenith Blade resolves, Leona gains the Attacker designation because she's now present at the battlefield where Combat is staged and her controller has the Attacker designation, (5) Leona's triggered ability triggers when she gains the Attacker designation and is added to the chain as a Pending Item. The 'When I attack' condition is met when a unit gains the Attacker designation, which happens during Cleanup after Leona arrives, so her ability triggers before Combat Damage resolves.
If I move a merchant into an empty battlefield and pass priority, can I respond to my own move trigger with Rengar, and if so, does Rengar land at base or the same battlefield?
Ruling: Rengar can only be played to base in this situation because you are not attacking the previously uncontrolled battlefield.
Nuances:
- Moving into an empty/uncontrolled battlefield does not count as attacking it
- Rengar's ability to enter a battlefield requires you to be attacking that battlefield
If I move into a battlefield and my opponent plays Hidden Blade from hand, can I play Fight or Flight or Ride the Wind to return to base?
Ruling: No, you cannot play Fight or Flight or Ride the Wind in response to Hidden Blade because they are all action speed spells and you cannot play action speed spells while there is a chain on the stack.
Sequence:
- You move into a battlefield
- Opponent plays Hidden Blade from hand (creating a chain)
- You cannot respond with action speed spells while the chain exists
If I pass focus during a showdown, then my opponent plays a card, do I get another opportunity to gain focus, or am I locked out for passing earlier?
Ruling: You get focus again after your opponent plays a card. Passing focus is not permanent - players pass focus back and forth until both players pass consecutively without playing any action/reaction cards.
Sequence:
- Player A passes focus
- Player B receives focus and plays a card
- Player A receives focus again and can choose to play a card or pass
- This continues until both players pass focus consecutively
- Then the showdown proceeds to cleanup
Nuances:
- Focus only exists during showdowns, not during other phases of the game
- Passing focus once does not lock you out of future focus opportunities in that showdown
If I pass focus without using an action spell while moving into combat, and my opponent activates Hextech Ray, does it resolve first or does focus pass back to me so I can use an action spell like Cleave before resolution?
Ruling: Hextech Ray resolves first. You cannot play an action spell while there are items on the chain. After the chain resolves completely, you regain focus and can then play an action spell like Cleave to start a new chain.
Sequence:
- Opponent plays Hextech Ray (action spell)
- You may only respond with a reaction spell, not another action spell
- If you don't respond, Hextech Ray resolves
- Chain completes
- You regain focus and may now play an action spell (like Cleave) to start a new chain
Nuances:
- You gain Priority (not Focus) when responding to spells on the chain
- Action spells can only be played when the chain is empty
- Chain resolves in "Last In, First Out" order
If I pay additional cost for Akshan and proc Weaponmaster first to equip Svellsongur, will Svellsongur copy Akshan's second ability allowing me to steal 2 gear?
Ruling: No, you cannot steal 2 gear this way. Weaponmaster and Akshan's second ability trigger at the same time, so by the time Svellsongur is attached to Akshan, it's too late for it to copy the ability that has already triggered.
Nuances:
- Svellsongur does not work well with on-play abilities because it needs to be attached before the ability triggers to copy it
- Even with Quickdraw (via Jax), playing Svellsongur in reaction to Akshan's on-play ability is still too late since the ability has already triggered
- If Akshan is banished after gear is attached (e.g., via Arcane Shift), the gear detaches and returns to its owner's base
If I play Icathian Rain and my opponent retreats two units leaving only Fiora, am I forced to target Fiora 6 times and pay 6x Deflect/recycle rune costs?
You must target Fiora all 6 times (she's the only legal target), but you only need to pay Deflect costs for enough instances to deal lethal damage. For example, if Fiora has 4 Might, you must pay Deflect for 2 instances (4 damage = lethal), but you can decline to pay Deflect for the remaining 4 instances, and those damage instances will not resolve.
If I play Icathian Rain and my opponent retreats two units leaving only Pouty Poro, am I forced to target the Poro 6 times and pay 6x Deflect costs?
You must target Pouty Poro 6 times (since it's the only legal target), but you are not forced to pay the Deflect cost. You can decline to pay for each triggered Deflect ability, and if you do, those damage instances will not resolve.